Professional License for a Physician
If you are a physician in Orange County and have been arrested for driving under the influence then you could face suspension of your professional license or even revocation. The Medical Board of California licenses physicians in the state. A physician licensed through the Medical Board is required to report an indictment for a felony offense or conviction of a misdemeanor within 30 days. Failure to report felony charges or a conviction for a misdemeanor within 30 days can result in a public punishment and a fine of up to $5000.
We understand how important your medical license is to your livelihood. We will fight hard to protect your record. If you are arrested for a felony DUI, we will help you prepare for the hearing through the Medical Board of California. The board is automatically updated of any arrest through the Department of Justice. Hiding from the charges will not make them go away and could result in additional penalties as described above.
If you are a medical student or applying to medical school you are under strict scrutiny. You must report any misdemeanor convictions. Failing to report or answering dishonestly can result in the denial of your application. We can help you to understand the reporting requirements and properly word your responses.
Call our offices today for a free initial case consultation. Our OC DUI defense lawyers will help to fight the charges against you and get the best possible results on your case.